29 Years Euregional Prize for Architecture

## **EAP Euregional Prize for Architecture 2019**

The Euregional Prize for A<mark>rchitecture is a cross-bord</mark>er prize awarded annually to the best graduate project in one of the five participating schools of architecture in the so-called Euregion Meuse-Rhine, the European region spanning part of Germany, the Netherlands and Belgium. An international jury of professionals will select the best graduate projects from a total of 29 projects and submit these nominations for the architectural award.

The Euregional Prize for Architecture has been awarded since 1991 and has been supported by an inter-institutional cooperation since 1995. The intense interaction between education, professional practice, architectural institutes and schools of architecture has resulted in a unique cross-border project.

The prize aims to offer talented people, such as recently graduated architects, engineers and urban developers (educated in the Euregion Meuse-Rhine) a platform that will facilitate their entry into the professional world. It is on this very same platform that the participating institutes are enabled to present themselves to an international audience and to gauge each other's teaching methods.

Organising the annual prize-giving ceremony and the exhibition of the participating projects alternately in one of the Euregion Meuse-Rhine countries, ensures the reinforcement and advancement of the European character and cross-border cooperation, beyond the interests of the people involved.

In 2019, the awarding ceremony of the 29th Euregional Prize for Architecture will take place at the RWTH Reiff-museum, Schinkelstrasse 1, D-52062 Aachen.

### Organisation

SCHUNCK Heerlen, multidisciplinary cultural centre

### Cooperating architectural institution

Architektenkammer Nordrhein-Westfalen (Germany)

### Cooperating schools of architecture

Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen, Fakultät für Architektur (Germany)

Universiteit Hasselt, Faculteit Architectuur en Kunst (Belgium)

Fachhochschule Aachen (Germany)

Maastricht Academy of Architecture, Faculty of Arts, Zuyd Hogeschool (The Netherlands)

Université de Liège, Faculté d'Architecture (Belgium)

### Sponsors

Stimuleringsfonds voor Creatieve Industrie

Gemeente Heerlen

Netwerk Architecten Vlaanderen (NAV)

Wienerberger

Provincie Limburg

















# Invitation 29th Euregional Prize for Architecture

Saturday 16th November 2019, 20.00 hrs RWTH Reiff-museum, Schinkelstrasse 1, D-52062 Aachen.

# Award ceremony Saturday 16th November (free of charge) RWTH Reiff-museum, Schinkelstrasse 1, D-52062 Aachen.

19.00 Informal preview exhibition

20.00 Word of welcome by Andrea Croé,
Sr. curator Architecture and Urbanism. SCHUNCK

20.05 Introduction by Anne-Jülchen Bernhardt, Professor Building Design, RWTH Aachen

20.15 Jury presentation by Sabine Brück, Dean Architecture Faculty, RWTH Aachen

20.25 Analysis of the projects by Christian Kieckens, Architect, prof.em.

20.35 Jury report and awarding of the 29th Euregional Prize for Architecture by the chairman of the jury

21.00 Reception

### Exhibition EAP 2019 (free of charge)

RWTH Reiff-museum, Schinkelstrasse 1, D-52062 Aachen.

18th November - 13th December

Weekdays: 08.00 - 20.00 hrs

### Participants and projects

### Maastricht Academy of Architecture

- Suzan Gelissen
   Wijkplaats, Refuge for Remembering
- Tran Boi Linh Nguyen Grandma's House

### RWTH Aachen

- Carolyn Sarah Herzog
   Innovation Factory RWTH Aachen
- Carolin Möllers
   Urban Production Site\_Alkmaar
- Johann Eckartz
   Creating Chorweiler
- Luisa Ropelato
   Productive community center
- Wolfgang Philipp
  Peggy Guggenheim Collection Venice
- Dominik Hagn
   Innovation Factory RWTH Aachen

# Anna Greta Bayer Temporary Use. Spaces of Innovation

- Felix Mayer

  Documentation Centre Berlin
- Sophie Schüttler
   Muslim civic centre Reuterkiez Berlin
- Leah Stockburger Center for Industrial Culture
- Breno Paternostro
   New School of Architecture

### ULg Liège

- Quentin De Pryck
  Coeur d'îlot Sérésien
- Alexia Di Carlantonio
   En Golette
- Magali Renard
   L'administration communale Gesves
- Larissa Cataldo
   Bibli O thèque

- Youri Dor
   Observatory
- Alexandra Marion ESAGACNicolas Sougnez

ESAGAC

### UHasselt

- Olivier Eurlings
   The Cabinet, a House of / for Memory
   Sien Swinnen
- Moving (on)
- Judith Engelbosch
   See I Sea
- Hanne Philtjens wALL
- Philip Vliegen
   Hasselt Bridge
- Kaat Bloemen
  Cool Reflections

• Thomas Goossens
Thought in concrete

### FH Aachen

- Marie-Sophie Heckmann Meet your City
   Arnaud Charov
- Workbench; The adaptive workplace
- Matthias Welk
   Sportfabrik
- Dominik Merres
   Klare Kante zeigen

### ury

Floris De Bruyn Jurjen Zeinstra Karsten Weber Cédric Libert Rob van Baalen

Jury secretary
Andrea Prins

Project analyst
Christian Kieckens

# SCHUNCK

Bongerd 18, NL-6411 JM Heerlen 0031 45 5772205 / architectuur@schunck.nl www.eap-pea.org

See www.eap-pea.org under prize or www.schunck.nl